Relief Efforts for the Philippines

Image

I know this is not autism related, but I just want to take a moment to highlight the typhoon that hit the Philippines. According to news reports, it was one of the most powerful storms. I read one blog that suggested donating money instead of clothing, shoes, stuffed toys etc. The author suggested that these items take time to sort through, can hurt local vendors and businesses, and slows down the relief process.

I’m sure there are more organizations that are accepting monetary donations, but I just want to share a few I learned of that you can donate to. I hope you consider donating to one of these organizations.

American Red Cross: donate here

Compassion International: donate here

Medical Teams International: donate here

World Vision: donate here

Direct Relief (alpha Kappa Delta Phi International Sorority Inc partnered with Direct Relief to raise funds for the survivors): donate here